Savouring Allan Gray Scholars’ Successes | Allan Gray Orbis Foundation
Savouring Allan Gray Scholars’ Successes

Savouring Allan Gray Scholars’ Successes

Towards the end of each school year learners are acknowledged for their contributions and achievements throughout the year. Parents’ hearts swell with pride and grateful nods are extended to the educators. Like any other parent, the Foundation basks in the successes of its Scholars and we wish to take this opportunity to congratulate them, their parents and their respective schools for all the effort that went into producing such excellence in 2015.

Bishops Diocesan College

The boys excelled in academics, leadership, sport and culture.

  • Sihle Kahla (Gr 9) was elected to the Student’s Representative Forum while Dean Jacobs (Gr 9) received Academic Full Colours.
  • Erin Solomon and Bulelani Ngqukuvani (both Gr 10) were invited to play for the UCT Philharmonic Orchestra and train with the Western Province and National hockey teams, respectively.

Clarendon High School

  • Nokubonga Mhlongo, Monalisa Johnson and Sibabalwe Matshikhiza (all Gr 10) – were acknowledged for their academic performance. Nokubonga and Monalisa were added to the Merit List while Sibabalwe took first place in her grade for Business Studies
  • Simphiwe Malaza (Gr 11) was acknowledged in the area of service for attaining a top-three finalist spot for her community project at Enke Camp
  • Yolandi Sloti (Gr 11) was appointed Hostel Prefect


Collegiate High School for Girls

The girls walked away with several awards apiece.

  • Precious Gumbo (Gr 10) was elected to the RCL and as the Head of the Hostel Entertainment Committee
  • Owethu Ndaza (Gr 10) was acknowledged as the Best Actress in House Plays and was elected to the Hostel Entertainment Committee and Eastern Province Cricket team
  • Somila Mavuso (Gr 11) was elected Deputy Head Girl, the Deputy Head of Hostel and received the Sam Beyon Hostel Fellowship Award (for being the most approachable and exemplary hostel senior)
  • Gabriella Mogale (Gr 9) was appointed Library Monitor
  • Mbali Titi (Gr 8) was acknowledged for being the most improved netball player and took first place for isiXhosa and History in her grade as well as eighth place for her overall in the grade


Epworth High School for Girls

  • Amukelani Ndlovu, Lereku Mohlabeng and Obakeng Lethlage (all Gr 11) excelled in leadership
  • Amukelani was elected Hostel Prefect, School Prefect and President of Interact
  • Lereko was elected Hostel Prefect, School Prefect and Vice President of Interact
  • Obakeng was elected Deputy Head Girl, Deputy Head of Soccer and Head of Marimba


Grey High School

  • Keeran Bezuidenhout (Gr 11) of took the first position in his grade for Computer Applications Technology


King Edward School

  • Zawadi Shivane and Oyama Mdladla (both Gr 9) were added to the Merit List



  • Aphiwe Mthalane and Luvuyo Magwaza (both Gr 11) were elected as Farfield House Prefect and West House Prefect, respectively


Pietermaritzburg Girls High School

  • Sima Thord-Gray (Gr 10) received a Karate Brown Belt


Rustenburg High School for Girls

Four girls were acknowledged for their leadership ability.

  • Jade Benton (Gr 8) was elected to the Habitat for Humanity Committee
  • Buhle Mcengwa (Gr 10) and Quratul-Ain Parker (Gr 11) were appointed as Head of Jabulani Cultural Society and Head of the Computer Centre, respectively
  • Rebecca Plaatjies (Gr 11) was elected as School Prefect and member of the Interact Committee


Selborne College

Leonardo Doolooa (Gr 10) and the following Gr 11 Scholars were all added to the Merit List for their academic excellence:

  • Lungelo Dlamini
  • Ntobeko Ndimande
  • Lupumlo Kwesaba
  • Lutho Bebeza
  • Leonardo was also one of two students to go on an exchange programme to the UK.


St Andrews School for Girls

Thembelihle Tshabalala and Kagiso Modiakgotla (both Gr 11) ­– showed excellence in leadership and were elected as Head and Deputy Head of Public Speaking, respectively. Kagiso was also elected as Head of the Marketing Committee.


St Cyprians School

  • Laaiqah Taliep (Gr 11) was elected Head of Community Partnerships, received Gold and Bronze Medals at the Western Cape and National Science Fairs and was one of two students selected for the 2015 Round Square Project to India
  • Busisiwe Siyo (Gr 11) was elected as Head of Boarding and as a member of the Public Relations Portfolio Team


St Mary’s, Waverly

The girls excelled in several areas.

  • Aobakwe Selebi (Gr 11) received Half Colours for Art and Choir, Full Colours for Technical Service and Community Service and was elected as Deputy Head of Boarding and Deputy Head of Clayton House
  • Lerato Kubeka (Gr 11) was elected Head of Peer Counseling
  • Keitumetse Pule (Gr 10) was elected as Vice Captain of Basketball and as member of the following committees: Diversity Committee, Events Committee and Environmental Club Committee
  • Khethiwe Sibanyoni (Gr 10) received Half Colours for Technical Skills, Commitments to the Environmental Club Committee, the Best Trinity Solo (for Drama) and was acknowledged as having made the most progress in Tech Club. She was also selected to go on exchange to Sherborne College in the UK.


Well done to all our Scholars – we are very proud of you! Enjoy your well-deserved rest with your friends and family.

About the Author

Leave a Reply

× How can we help you?